CTfl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Squats without a squat rack?

Since I'm a college student with no money left I no longer have a gym membership. I can still get by with stuff I have, a bench, various bars, etc.. but I do not have a squat rack and really don't have the room or money to purchase one. What I've been doing is taking weight that I'm comfortable lifting above my head (only about half the weight that I could normally squat) and resting it across my shoulders. Then I procede to do about 3 sets of 17 reps. With heavier weight I usually do 3 sets of 10 reps. I'm not really looking to make my quads much bigger but I know that squats are one of the best excercises out there. They're actually my favorite next to bench press too. Are the low weight/high reps going to be anywhere near as effective? By the way, I've tried forward squats with the bar resting on the elbow joints and it seemed uncomfortable. Besides that, I can't really do heavyweight like this anyway. Thanks in advance for any information/suggestions.
    Last edited by CTfl; 01-13-2002 at 08:19 PM.

ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500) ballast is a jewel in the rough. (+500)
    There are a few squat variations you can try; zercher squats,hack squats or overhead squats.You don't need a squat rack and they are very taxing on the legs,hips and low back.