pantherpride17 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) pantherpride17 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) pantherpride17 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Realistic goals for a beginner

I started lifting weights several years ago, but never accomplished anything worth speaking of. I can easliy maintain my weight simply by my diet, so getting motivated to exercise and workout is hard. I would really like to tone my body though, and am not opposed to building a little bit of muscle either. I haven't touched weights in a few (3ish?) years and I have a hard time staying motivated so I was thinking that if I set some short term goals for myself it would motivate me to stick to it and get some results. We return to America in 6 months (March 2012) so I was thinking that would be a good time frame to set some goals help keep me motivated.

I have absolutely NO idea what kind of goals I should set and what would be realistic for a "beginner".. Should my goals be towards losing an inch of fat around my waist? Or being able to bench press X amount more than I can the day I start? Doing X amount of push-ups (I can do some) doing X amount of pull-ups (can't do any!) Any one remember what sort of goals you set for the first 6 months you started lifting or sort of progress you made? I'm 5' 4" and around 125 lbs if that helps any.
    "If you do not stand behind our troops, please feel free...to stand in front of them."

Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000) Artistry is a name known to all. (+5000)