richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10) richedie is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Returning to lifting after 7 months?

Hi everyone,

I started lifting when i was about 16 and have continued religiously through out my life. I am not 36 and separated my shoulder snowboarding in January. This is a fairly common injury in this sport and similar sports. I had reconstructive shoulder surgery in early february. I was a heavy lifter up to this point. Obviously I had lost a lot of upper body mass and tone. My shape gradually changed but I am just now able to start the work to make a come back, so to speak. I am sure many of you have had longer lay-offs that this so you are probably laughing.

So, after 7 months...I am finally starting to work my upper body. Prior to this, it was lower body and very light weights in the last few months for upper body. Even now, I am only at using 5 - 15 lb dumbells for my right arm since it was my right shoulder that had the reconstructive surgery.

Things are starting to pick up and I am feeling better......but I am wondering if I should concentrate on fat loss at this point and then building back up or try to do both - which I have always found to be next to impossible.

Right now I am doing a light upper body workout once a week, a heavier lower body workout and running/walking on alternate days.

Thanks!
    Rich