jasonknights has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Accuracy of Heart Rate Monitor for Calorie Burn

I'm a complete noob to working out so I bought I heart rate monitor because I figured it would cut out a lot of the calculations and estimates I'd otherwise have to make and leave a lot of room for error (lolmath). Specifically, I bought the Zephyr Heart Rate Monitor for Android. I'm unsure of its accuracy though. I use the sportstracklive app on my phone to pair it with and the log from my most recent work out (leg day: quads, hamstrings, calves, cardio) read as follows:

Duration: 1h 44m 22s (I kept it on on my way to and from the gym in my car, which is about 20 minutes roundtrip)
    Ave Heart Rate: 155 BPM
    Max Heart Rate: 190 BPM
    Distance: 3.1 mil
    Calorie burned: 1265

That calorie count seems extremely high to me. I do do high intensity workouts both in my weight lifting (high weight, low rep, 30 second rest) and cardio (interval training for ~25 minutes, 1:30 minutes walking, 1:00/0:45 fast jog/sprinting alternating), but almost 1300 calories just seems like a ridiculous amount to me. Is my heart monitor just not accurate or am I underestimating calorie burn from exercising?

If it matters, I'm male, 5'6, 19 years old, 128 pounds, 15% BF (I think...). I lead an otherwise sedentary life outside of the gym - I'm a student and don't play sports. I do have a slightly higher heart rate, tachycardia runs in the family, but I researched it and apparently that shouldn't have a huge effect on my burn reading.

Thanks.