Thread: Front hip pain

Juniemoonie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Front hip pain

I am new to weightlifting and this forum as well...I've looked around the forum for hip pain while doing squats and I haven't found a situation like mine yet...

Unlike most other people, I have had hip pain while doing squats from the start. It isn't as if I had been doing squats for years and got injured and my hips have been hurting ever since - they have been hurting as I said since the beginning. The pain is on the front hips, especially on the right side. The first time I ever did squats was 3 or 4 years ago at a Velocity training gym. They would critique any movement that was out of place and worked with me to make sure I had the right form. If it makes a difference - I am extremely inflexible. I do stretch before but nothing seems to make the pain go away.

Has anyone experienced hip pain from the start? If so what did you do about it?

amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) amgrassi79 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

psoas/hip flexors

i am a clinical licensed massage therapist in washington state, practicing 6+years.

i would say that if you were doing squats incorrectly and using quads too much, (your knees would go too far over yours toes in the down phase and exclude good glute engagement), where they attach to the front of your pelvic bone (near the parts that stick out in front) might be a strained tendon, as you'd use this quad (rectus femoris) to stand upright again...too much load.