nette has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

newb - working out at home

I'm 5'5 and about 145lbs, trying to get down to about 130 (but that really doesn't matter, just want to look good and be toned). I have 2 little boys and can't really get out of the house to go to the gym, so I usually have to just do videos or go running at 10pm (when DH gets home from work), which isn't ideal (the 10pm run that is). I'm just looking for some help to get some good cardio/toning, that I can do at home, or some good workout videos. I do The Firm quite often, as well as Tae Bo, and have a TamiLee arms/butt/abs with weights, for toning. How often do I need to be doing cardio and/or toning each week?
    Sorry for all the questions in one...like I said...I'm a newbie!
    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by nette; 07-28-2004 at 04:37 PM.

moody_weasel has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Hi Nette, welcome to the boards.

If you're looking for some good workouts which will definitely improve your cardio check out this site:

http://www.trainforstrength.com/workouts.shtml

I suggest you start with workout 1. Do it 2-3 times a week.

As for the forbidden word 'toning' - this simply means to lose bodyfat so your muscles look defined.
    To lose bodyfat you have to burn more calories than you consume.

Below are forum member BuffedWildCat's nutrition guidelines. Search the forum for more info from her. She usually posts very good information.

"This is what it takes to get the physique she desires...

Other than the guidelines I'm posting, it just takes CONSISTENCY & PATIENCE.

90% OF IT IS DIET, DIET, DIET

NUTRITIONAL GUIDELINES FOR REDUCING BODY FAT:

1. Eat every 2-3 hours, balanced meals of protein, carbohydrates, and fat. Exception: you don't necessarily have to eat carbohydrates with your last meal or two of the day, you CAN just eat protein and fat. Unless it's post workout (post strength training), then you NEED to eat some carbs.