Closed Thread
    Brandon056 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Losing strength on chest while cutting but other lifts are increasing and maintaining

I've been cutting since March 14, 2016. 210lbs to currently 180lbs. Throughout my cut I've been getting stronger in my lifts and able to move more heavy weight in my back, triceps, biceps. On legs, my lifts are maintaining which is good, because I can still front squat 385lbs. But chest on the other hand, seems to be getting weaker and weaker. My max was 300lbs, and I was able to do sets and rep 225lbs for 5x5 with 30 sec - 1 minute rest. However, now I only can do 225lbs for sets of 2-3 reps. It seems to get harder and harder. I can barely hit 275lbs max on a good day. Any thoughts of what it could be? Is it lack of energy due to cutting all carbs? Am I cutting to much? Will I get that strength back after I finish cutting?

repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50) repower will become famous soon enough. (+50)
    Hi!

Well, first, unless you're a newbie, it could happen that you loss strength during a cut. You lost 30lbs, and you only lost 2-3 reps from pressing, so, isn't that bad. In fact, losing 30lbs and only 2-3 reps from your chest, is, in relative strength, increasing strength, since you weigh way less.