Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000) yakabebe is a name known to all. (+5000)

Diet advice in the face of severe metabolic damage

As some would know I've been competing now for 8 years running.

As luck would have it the method used to gain the level of lean required to perform at the top of the game for me has been a most difficult task. The advice used and which definitely succeeded led to an ever-increasing reduction in carbs and an ever-decreasing calorie intake. Year after year, the #'s needed to keep coming down to get the impact.

This year and against advice to take a break (spoke with Layne Norton on this - a true guru) and to allow a couple of years to go and see if a "reset" of the metabolism could be effected, stupid stubborn me said fk it...I wanna compete.

WELL WORTH WATCHING>>>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hw3kfRkqVWU

Which leads me to my present enquiry.

Last year I eventually had to arrive at the astonishingly low level of calories of about 800-900 c/day and that also necessitated 5 full gym sessions and at least 4 x 1-1.5hrs cardio per week. And with almost zero carbs for 6 of 7 days.

As a consequence, it seems my basal metabolic rate is so low that when I placed myself on a calorie intake of about 2,500 c/day post comp...even then I went up in weight from 79kg to 91kg (174# to 200#). Body fat remained sort of lowish ~12-15%.

Started my cut about 2 months ago. Reduced cals to 1,800 c/day for the first month and lost zero. Lowish carbs but still there each meal