currytoys has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Should I Be Taking Protein Powder If I'm Trying To Lose Weight But Still Build Muscle

I am new to bodybuilding with little knowledge...I joined a local gym 2 months ago. I'm about 20 to 25 pounds over weight so weight loss is my main goal but I definitely want to build muscle and cuts at the same time. Is muscle building protein powder a good or bad idea for my body type and workout for my workout goals? Will it slow me down from loosing weight?
    Thanks for any helpful response.
    Sandy...

AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500) AliMay is a jewel in the rough. (+500)
    First off Sandy,
    You can't build muscle and lose fat at the same time. You focus on one at a time. If you aren't obese which it doesn't sound like you are I would go the muscle building route first. You will probably be more happy with how your body looks with added muscle vs lower weight.
    As for the protein, take the supplement if you are lacking enough protein macros in your diet. The protein alone won't build muscle. You will still need to be at a slight calorie surplus for that to happen. Check out the nutrition stickies on here. They are a big help and can explain everything more in depth.