writher has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Bench Press has gone down

Hey guys,
    I started lifting weights almost exactly a year ago. Back then I could press about 85 pounds on barbell and 25 pounds in each hand on dumbells.

In the summer my barbell bench was up to 155 and my dumbell press was up to 55. Now my barbell bench is back down to 135 and seems to be stuck there while my dumbell press has gone up to 60. I work out about 6 days a week....although many times I will just go in and do abs or calves/bis on days where my major muscle groups are fatigued....so a typical workout routine would be something like:

Day 1: Chest/Tri
    Day 2: Back/Bi
    Day 3: Shoulder/forearm/Trap
    Day 4: Leg
    Day 5: Bis/Abs
    Day 6: Off

Or possibly like this:

Day 1: Shoulder/forearm/trap
    Day 2: Back/bi
    Day 3: Leg
    Day 4: Chest/Tri
    Day 5: Bis/abs/Calves

I cannot seem to get my barbell bench press over 155...it just goes up and down between 135 and 155 now. When I do bench should I only do one "press" motion per chest day? (IE Just flat bench or incline or decline) Or could I do 2 sets of one and 2 of another? Or 4 sets of each?

Thanks.

DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) DJAuto has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000)
    Concentrate on dumbbell press for awhile. Then try bench press again.

Change something...your routine, diet etc.