Registered User secret_identity's Avatar
    secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) secret_identity has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

What should my caloric intake be? Please help.

I started training with a personal trainer 3 weeks ago. Last week, we measured my body fat percentage at 19% using the seven site caliper method. This was a surprise to me as I don't look like the load of lard 19% is, and only weigh 160lbs.

I'm working on my lifts, doing them 3 times a week split between pulling pushing and legs. My trainer has a solid program. For instance, on push day I did barbell bench press, dumbell incline and dumbell shoulder press, then isolation for my triceps on a cable machine. He then finished off with some pushups which I was too tired to do more than about 5. (I did 20 pushups to warm up, and about 120 yesterday over a 30 minute period)

I am also in Army ROTC so I do 2-3 times weekly runs as well as additional pushups and situps and cardio.

SOOO...my goal has always been to bulk up. I am 5'8", so I would probably try to eventually reach 180-190, then cut to reduce fat to be 'ripped'

However, 19% really depresses me. I have started noticing how fat I am a lot, especially when I scrunch up while sitting in the shower and when I look in the mirror I see the huge love handles.

Before I knew my bf% was 19%, I was eating 3000-4000 calories per day with about 250g of protein.