Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    DreamBig has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Exclamation Creatine, Acne, Accutane... The horrible truth

To begin my story, Ive been lifting since april of 2003. Over summer 2003 I developed pretty serious acne and it sucked majorly. In August I saw a dermo and after bloodwork, I had my accutane in September 03. I was on 20 mg in the morning, and 20 mg at night, 40 mg total a day. I endured the dry skin, chapped lips, sore lower back, random nose bleeds, and extremely red face for 5 months. In January 04, I was finished, and the side effects were gone after about 2 weeks, and I felt great. No pimple for the past 3-4 months, no oily face by the end of the day, and it was as smooth at a baby's bottom.

After the school year, over the summer of 04, I started using creatine in late June. I gained about 10 pounds, and put 25 pounds on my bench. By the end of July, I had some small pimples popping up. Come the middle of August, and the beginning of the school year, my acne was as bad as it was the previous summer, and that was pretty bad. I saw the dermo again, and he didn't know why it came back. In the office, I got the usual Q & A from the doc before I got my prescription. One of the questions was "Do you do any sports?" I said "no". So, he put me on Retin-A micro and oral antibiotics. After I paid for the visit, I saw the doc again and asked him if increased stress from weight lifting could have made it come back. I remember the exact words he said..."Weight lifting wouldn't have any effect on your face, in fact, it might help it. As long as you are not taking steroids or creatine, it shouldn't make a difference."