Thread: The catch/rack

Shaba65 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

The catch/rack

Wuttup, I am just starting to get into olympic lifting. I am takin this summer to learn the olympic lifts better. I have been doing hang cleans/snatches for about 2 years now for my sport (shot put/discus/hammer/weight) and with straps because the main reason that we do them is for the explosive power.

I am really intersted in learning the full lifts now. I have a friend who helped me set up a program for them. My problem is racking the clean. I have a hard time catching/racking the bar on my clavicles because I do not have very much flexibility at all in my shoulders/arms. Are there any exercises in particular that olympic lifters do to work on flexibility in this area?

Thanks

Walkin'tall machinegunman PrivateBaldrick's Avatar
    PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PrivateBaldrick is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500)
    Practice front squats with your elbows up as high as they'll go, and keep trying to get them higher. This will stretch them out pretty quickly. Or just stretch by lifting one elbow up while pulling your fingers down to your shoulders with your other hand.

crankedup has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    ^^^ second that plus do some other upper body strecthes look through a yoga book to find some it will help greatly
    old maxes at my best

Squat - 325
    Bench - 275
    Deadlift 415