bostongeek has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

upper-middle chest workout

Hi,

I've been working out for a couple of months now and my chest seems to be developing in a strange way. The outer half of my chest on both sides and the bottom of it is growing well and getting harder, but in the middle of my chest the upper portion doesn't seem to be growing at all.

I've been doing the bench press, incline bench press and butterflys. I've gotten advice to try push-ups and the bench press with my hands close together, but then other people have told me that those excercises work the triceps more than the chest.

Any advice?

Thanks

AMPed08 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    I'm very surprised you're seeing the most gains in the lower portion of your chest from doing incline and regular bench. Doing pushups and bench with your hands closer together WILL target the triceps as you mentioned. Are your bench and incline bench getting stronger? If not you need to eat eat EAT! That is the way to gain size. It COULD be that you're overtraining, but i doubt it.

Are you doing dips by any chance? Those really work the lower pec which could be why you're gaining there.

xp2000 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Here's a thought....try front delt plate raises.....I know, I know you're targeting your delts, but what most people don't know is that the upper head of the pectoralis major is an accessory muscle in flexion of the humerous relative to the trunk. In other words, your upper chest to assists your anterior deltoids when lifting your arms straight out in front of you. If all else fails, keep up with the incline (30 degrees or below). Give those a try and call me in the morning.

Section8 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    how often do you lead off with incline presses? try doing that more often.

bostongeek has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

thanks

thanks for all of the fast replies.