peadarriley is on a distinguished road. (+10)

What's driving my % body fat rise?

Hi:

Hoping for some help figuring something out:

I've been lifting weights consistently for many years, with the usual interruptions from injury, life, etc. But, over the last 3 years, I've noticed that my %BF is slowly but consistently increasing (13.5% -> 17.1%), while my weight is staying the same, even though my workouts have stayed roughly similar. Some of the variables are:

1. age
    2. vegan diet (incl. an increase in fruit consumption and cutting out dairy)
    3. varying levels of aerobic exercise (usually 1 hour or more per day)
    4. Different weight routines (push/pull, full body, # days).

The only variable I can't change is the "age" (currently 55), but what would you say is the prioritized list of variables to address? I'm not averse to testing a meat-based diet as an experiment (although I don't think that's a long-term good health option for me), and I'm not against dropping running/biking as an experiment. And I am supplementing with plant protein powder and/or beans/grains/tofu etc to get the recommended values (the same number of grams as my lean mass in pounds). Regarding the weight routine, I have changed from your lower-rep routine to a 10-15 rep style.

I can see that if I were to take a good workou/diet plan and follow it to the letter, I would see results. But, since I enjoy the vegan diet, doing lots of running, and higher-rep/DB workouts, I'd like to identify the main culprit for the %BF increase, if, indeed, it's just one thing that's driving it.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.