souheil221 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Smile Is this diet good for building muscle?

hi guys, i should start this by saying i am a total noob in these matters as it's the first time going to the gym.

here's the profile :

body fat percentage: 22%

weight: 85 kg (187 lbs)

lean body mass: 66 kg (145 lbs)

after some research online i came to the conclusion that i should cut first and try to build muscle

I'll target these results:

calories: 2400

protein: 86g

carbs: 500g

fat: 40g

and again i have no idea of what i am doing , this is the result of simple research any advice will be appreciated.

pike1563 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Thumbs up cutting advice

So I see that you are at a relatively high body fat % and you are looking to cut and then build muscle after that. Personally, at your fat percentage, I would try to build muscle while you are cutting. It seems like you are focused on losing fat and then gaining muscle. My suggestion is that you up your protein to around 0.8g-1g per pound of body weight (~187). In the end, you will lose weight while building muscle. When you first start working out you will feel pretty sore after training a muscle group my suggestion is to do a push-pull legs split (PPL). Make sure to take at least 2 days of rest before training again once your body gets adjusted you can try working out every other day. I also suggest you implement some cardio in your workouts while you are cutting. Lastly working out isn't an overnight thing you need to train for a while to see progress, take a picture or a video, and save it to compare it to your later self.

souheil221 is on a distinguished road. (+10)
    Originally Posted by pike1563 View Post