marvena is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Red face Achievable improvements within a year for a skinny total beginner like me?

TL;DR

Just wonder based on your knowledge/opinion how far can I improve in 1 year? Is being able to curl a 30lbs-dumbbell very unlikely to achieve?

My current status:

• Ectomorph. 29yo, 5'10', 58kg(127lbs). Very skinny. Small bone-frame. Almost no muscle and no fat.

• One arm standing bicep-curl: ~17lbs

• Bench press: 80lbs (max)

-------------------------------------------------------

(sorry for my basic English)

I'd describe myself as a nerd who has almost never worked out in his entire life. As you can guess, I had a lot of rough days in my life just based upon my physical weaknesses. I know I have to do something about it, and I also know that it's getting a bit too late but I'm not completely hopeless yet. I'm going to change my current lifestyle. And I'm honest about it.

Honestly I still have some bad thoughts about my body, like I would never change, I'd be forever weak, I'd have these skinny arms forever and as always I have to hide/cover them as much as I can. Very depressing thoughts.. That's why I came here just to ask if there's chance. Do you have any guess how good (for instance) my bicep-curl and bench-press can get if I regularly workout for like 1 year? I like maths so please include some number in your answers! I really need kinda numeric-milestone just to make sure it's achievable. I need to visualize it. (as realistic as possible, please)

Thank you.
    Last edited by marvena; 05-15-2022 at 07:44 AM.