heath096 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

New, what to do?

Hi everyone!

I am new to this health/fitness lifestyle, and I am currently stuck and am hoping for any advice!

I’m a 25 year old female. I was 5’4” 167 pounds, now I am 133 pounds. I lost that weight just from eating better and doing cardio 5x a week. However, I am still not happy with how I look. I have not done any strength training yet.

I got a dexa scan and it shows I’m 34.5% body fat! I feel that is quite a bit for being 133 pounds?

I also got a RMR breathing test done, and my RMR is 1,227. My TDEE is 1,902 and that accounts for my desk job with 3-5 days of exercise.

My question is what should I do? Should I continue to try and lose more body fat or should I focus on building muscle? I’ve heard a little about body recomposition, but I am not knowledgeable enough about it to see if it’s something I can do.

Any insight on nutrition (where should I set my calories?) and exercise would be greatly appreciated!

SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz
    You should always do resistance training when losing fat - to prevent muscle loss which inevitably happens. This is bad for several reasons - you can get lighter but without really improving your shape - even women rely on muscle mass to help define their shape, not just men. Losing muscle also suppresses your metabolism and makes it more likely your regain fat.

If I were you, I would eat at around maintenance calories (you can try setting it at 2000 and see if your TDEE estimate is correct or not). Pick a well known novice routine like "All Pros" - see the sticky threads in the workout programs section.