Baxter88s has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

I'm back again after many years away, SLOW weight loss!!

Hi All,

I'm back again, this time focused with a completely different mindset.

So my current stats are:

Weight: 288lb
    Body Fat: 37%
    Muscle Mass: 60.1%

Using legion fitness macro calc, my split is currently:

Calories: 2,488
    Protein: 249 g/day
    Carbs: 187 g/day
    Fat: 83 g/day

I've been training for around 2 months now with 4 lifting days and 2/3 cardio days, I've noticed I'm not losing loads of weight around 2lbs a week, however, I'm noticing a real shift in body fat & muscle mass percentage.

In my recent weigh in I lost 3.4% in body fat and gained 3.2% in muscle mass, is this normal? Is it normally that close?

I typically hit the protein goal every day and am just under on the fat & carbs.

SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz
    2lbs a week is more than I was expecting from 2500 calories... So you must be burning 3500 each day which is not bad going.

I'm guessing you used a BIA device to measure your body composition. We usually get at least one or two threads every day from people confused by numbers produced from these devices.

My advice is ignore what that machine says. Gaining muscle while dieting can happen but is likely very slow = much more likely that the machine is wrong. Read this if you need convincing:

https://weightology.net/the-pitfalls...impedance-bia/

You could reduce your calories a bit and safely lose weight faster. Perhaps go to 2200 cals.

Originally Posted by SuffolkPunch View Post