Drb1982 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

One Exercise per Body Part

Kind of a beginner question. I’ve been lifting weights for a couple years but I’m just casual with it. I don’t compete or take it overly serious but I’ve kind of fallen out of shape and I’m looking to get a little more serious with it.

I have a question about routines or programs. I normally do like 3 exercises and 4 sets per body part. But Ive been wondering lately if this is just something I’ve always done because I thought I was supposed to. If I’m doing chest, is there any real difference between doing just 12 sets of flat bench vs 4 sets of flat, 4 sets of incline, 4 sets of flies, etc ? Same with biceps. Could I not just do only bicep curls but more sets? Does it make much of a difference for muscle growth if you aren’t competing or doing shows?

I see all these people at the gym doing all these creative exercises and I’m wondering lately if there’s any real benefit other than I guess it keeps workouts from getting boring.

Thanks!

coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000) coachcalande is a name known to all. (+5000)
    Originally Posted by Drb1982 View Post
    Kind of a beginner question. I’ve been lifting weights for a couple years but I’m just casual with it. I don’t compete or take it overly serious but I’ve kind of fallen out of shape and I’m looking to get a little more serious with it.