txbass97 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Get in shape or die

I say this because my mental health and physical health has gone off the deep end.

I started lifting when I was 15 years old. Socially apprehensive and complete loser. By age 17 it was religion to me.

Freshman year 130lb. stick 15-16%BF
    Sophomore year swam competitively / lifted a little heavier 150lbs 12-13% BF
    Junior year dropped swimming, 100% lifting. 175lbs. 10% body fat
    Senior year eat breathe sleep fitness. No sweets, counting cals, water/protein only, messed with pro hormones ~3 months 185# 8% BF.
    It all stopped when I just started skipping workouts a few times a week, then it became only 2-3 workouts a week, then it stopped completely.

Joined the USMC, and I got lean and mean in bootcamp. But the lifting drive never came back. Went to the gym maybe 2-3 times a week for spurts of 3-6 months, stopped for a few months. repeat. Depression / anxiety kicked in hard, started drinking heavily and binge eating to deal with the stress. 3 years into my 4 year contract, I was Black out drunk at a bar and back flopped on the concrete, hit the back of my head so hard I was out cold for 10 minutes. Pretty bad concussion. Went back to work too soon and had another concussion 2 months later. Was pulled from my MOS (job). Went through speech therapy, balance therapy, memory therapy etc. The Military Medically Retired me with just over 4 years of service.

I've been out since Feb 2021. No motivation to do anything, binge eat to feel good, drink a couple of beers just to fall asleep because of the anxiety / insomnia. Depression blows too so I just eat the good stuff for that 2 minute feel good then it goes away.

If I keep this up I'm not going to be here much longer. So it's time to make a change.

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over, expecting a different result. It's cliche but I am living proof.