Dannyh195 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Building muscle in calorie deficit?

Hi, I’m new to this so don’t really know how it works. I have quite abit of weight to lose. Currently set up on a calorie counting app that has set me a 1,000 calorie a day deficit but from what I’ve read it’s not good for muscle building. My question is, how can I begin to build muscle while continuing to lose some fat, even if it’s a slower rate? Is it possible? Don’t want to get huge, just want to feel better in my own skin and improve my image of myself. Any advice greatly appreciated. Thanks!

SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz
    What is your height and weight?

You can build muscle in a deficit, especially if overfat and a novice to training... but a calorie deficit of 1000 is probably too high for that to happen much. You may have to take it slower - but as I say, we need your stats to give better guidance.

There is no special trick to it, you just use an effective program like one of those in the Workout Programs forum sticky threads (e.g. Fierce 5), keep protein high (1.6g per kg of target weight) and run a moderate calorie deficit - time and patience are the only magic ingredients here.

Originally Posted by SuffolkPunch View Post
    What is your height and weight?

You can build muscle in a deficit, especially if overfat and a novice to training... but a calorie deficit of 1000 is probably too high for that to happen much. You may have to take it slower - but as I say, we need your stats to give better guidance.