Donnerss is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Newbie who is having trouble with progressive overload (Help)

Hey everyone

I have been lifting for about 4 months. I am 5'9 and weigh 68kg. I eat 1600 cals p/d and workout every day using a three-day split (back and bis, chest and tris, legs and shoulders). I am plateauing hard on most of my lifts - for example, I cannot get my bench past 70kgx3x10 even after two weeks. I know my calorie intake is low and that means I won't progress quite as fast but being new I can't imagine it is so low that my progress halts completely. My plan is to get to 12% bf and then do a slow bulk with a miny cut every time I hit 15% (to reduce insulin sensitivity).

What should I do to help push up these lifts?
    Last edited by Donnerss; 04-20-2021 at 11:29 PM.

Han shot first! TolerantLactose's Avatar
    TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) TolerantLactose has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000)
    Originally Posted by Donnerss View Post
    I know my calorie intake is low and that means I won't progress quite as fast
    Sounds like you know what the problem is. Accept the consequences of your intake level or change it.

Also, there's a difference between a newbie and someone stuck at a novice level spinning his wheels.
    Am I therefore become your enemy, because I tell you the truth?
    Galatians 4:16