SporkFrog is on a distinguished road. (+10)

ADVICE NEEDED — Ready to get serious

BACKGROUND:

5'7", 144 lbs., male in his early 30s. I've had to work overseas for the last several years, frequently changing location, so it's been hard to get into a routine. Every time I started to feel like I was making progress and getting a good physique, I'd have to move, end up missing time in the gym, eating poorly, and lose my rhythm and gains. Then, when COVID hit, I completely fell off. Looking in the mirror right now does not feel good. I wouldn't say I'm starting off from zero... but it's not good.

But I'm ready to hit the gym again, and now I have a stable location back in the States, not planning to leave anytime soon, with good income, finally in a position to REALLY dedicate my time and focus on getting in shape and looking good.

So I don't want to half-ass it. I've been lifting on and off for over ten years and feel like I have little to show for it. It's time to take this more seriously. So I wouldn't say I'm an absolute beginner, I have a fair amount of knowledge when it comes to the various exercises, what a plan looks like, and some basic dietary knowledge. I just need to finally put it into a more coherent, rigorous plan.

So, I'm looking for some advice here. How do I keep myself FOCUSED on a plan? Any advice you guys have for making sure my diet, workout routine, supplements, etc. are ideal? I've usually followed just... rules of thumb, rather than really calculating and planning things out. Eat as much as I can when trying to gain, eat a little more carefully when cutting, trying to vary up my splits and routines etc. But there's been a clear lack of definite planning and focus.