hoboy has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question 6 or 7 foot standard barbell?

I am still a novice lifter and I currently have dumbbell handles with 100lbs of standard plates. I feel like I will need an upgrade soon so I am planning on buying a standard barbell + two 25lb plates. I am choosing a standard barbell over an Olympic one because I am still a novice ~ can't lift too heavy yet, and I don't need to buy new plates if I get a standard barbell.

The question is: There are 6 foot and 7-foot standard barbells available? What are the differences and which one should I get? (I don't have any racks, just a bench. So the main usage will be deadlifts, light squats, floor bench, etc)

Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000) Duplicitous is a name known to all. (+5000)
    The difference is 1'. :P Standard bars are mostly found in 5' and 6' varieties, so you're likely to end up with one of those if buying used. If buying new, you might as well go for the 7' as that's what Oly bars will be (approx) when you eventually transition over.