DillonUSoB is on a distinguished road. (+10)

General advice - working around an injury? (or not)

Hi, apologies if this isn’t the best place to post but it crosses a few categories so thought I’d start here since I’m 42 and that’s probably contributed to my aches and pains!
    I started lifting weights at home maybe 5 months ago to complement running and thai boxing, but before long I’d ditched the running as I much prefer weights.
    I started increasing protein and also taking creatine, and had gained about 6kg (probably not all muscle to be fair...) to date.
    However over the last month I had an increasing twinge in my shoulder that has eventually reached a point where it’s painful to raise my arm above my head or push away (so potentially rotator cuff, but could be a number of things). I’m not so dumb as to not take that as a cue to rest for a period. I would get a doctors opinion but you can’t see a doctor at the moment, and it’s fairly obvious they’ll just tell me to rest for a couple of weeks anyway.
    But we’ve gone back into lockdown and I’m now faced with not touching the weights and the muscle Id gained rapidly deteriorating.
    So two questions for anyone full of knowledge out there:
    Should I stop the creatine while I can’t lift? I’m assuming so as it won’t be getting used
    Are there any upper body exercises that could be safely done without impacting the shoulder, while allowing a rotator cuff injury to repair for example?
    Thanks for any advice.

Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Episteme is a jewel in the rough. (+500)
    Originally Posted by DillonUSoB View Post