Matt11222 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Matt11222 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Matt11222 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Lifting without a program?

I've been hitting the gym since 2018, like most people I didn't have a clue back then. In the time since then I've read up on the necessities of lifting and would like to think I know what I'm doing. The question I have is, is it bad to work out without a dedicated program? The way I do it is chest/triceps, back/biceps, legs/shoulders etc, but I just don't plan out all my specific exercises for those days. I always start with the big compounds like bench/deadlift/squat and move on to isolations at the end. Usually spend 1-2 hours in the gym and work out until the muscles are absolutely fried or I'm too fatigued.

tldr - not planning every single exercise out for muscle group days, bad idea?
    5'9 180lbs/82k

Bench - 70kg/154lb

Squat - 105kg/231lb

Deadlift - 145kg/320lb

SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz
    Generally speaking, yes it is bad to not have a program.

You will have trouble keeping tabs on:
    1) balance - tendancy to over emphasise favourite muscle groups and de prioritise less interesting ones (legs, back, posterior chain). Could lead to poor proportions or even joint pain
    2) progressive overload - people either tend to do too much and hit a wall or just go through the motions and not progress. You need some kind of plan
    3) volume - this is the key metric for long term effectiveness of a program. Do too little and you will plateau. Do too much and you paint yourself into a corner recovery wise.