RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500) RandyMcFlab is a jewel in the rough. (+500)

3 days rest going to hinder progress?

I am a novice lifter, apart from some lifting in my 20s I have not done anything for the past 12 odd years..I am currently trying to lose weight and gain muscle at the same time. start weight 310lbs current weight 270lbs. I eat approx 2k calories a day.

I have been weight lifting for about 8 weeks now. In this time my strength has over doubled. Full body workout doing sets of 6 - 10

I am noticing that i need way more rest than in my 20s - like 3 days off after each workout! Part of me is saying thats way to much i should never need more than two days rest - the other part is saying strength has over doubled, reps or weight is going up each session..Why change?

Is this 3 days rest period likely to hinder progress as things go on? I am assuming a plateu is coming soon as strength unlikely to keep increasing on a calorie deficit..But when i tried having a day less rest i did not progress.

So is three days rest too much? I do lift intensely and I am wondering if i should carry on as i am or lower intensity enough that I can go again after a 2 day rest.

Humble Megalomaniac ElrondHubbard's Avatar