DarioWestern is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Talking Need to lose 33kg

Hi all,

My name is Dario and I am from Brisbane in Australia.

I have been working out on and off since 1986, but this year I need to lose weight as I am turning 50 at the end of this year and my doctor has informed me that I have got a 33% chance of developing diabetes in my later years.

I currently weigh in at 113.8kg at present, and was told that my ideal weight is somewhere between 80 - 85kg as I am 6'0" tall.

At the moment, I cannot afford to join a gym and have been offered to use a friend's gym in her apartment, so I will take her up on that.

If anybody can give me some advice on what would be the best exercises to do, I will be very glad. Currently, I am walking for 1 hour each day and would like to muster up the energy to be able to do running once I've lost some weight.

Thanks all for your attention and hope to make some new friends in here.
    "No routine works unless YOU do!"

SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz
    Working out is of course important - but it will be secondary to calorie control - because that's what actually causes fat loss...

Have a read of the "basics" thread in the Fat Loss forum (marked as "sticky:" at the top of the page).

You'll need to get an app like myfitnesspal and start using that to control your calorie intake. Perhaps start at around 2000 calories and see how you go.

As for a routine, let us know what equipment you have access to. Most precanned routines we recommend use barbells and dumbbells but machines can be used to in a pinch.