bergignon is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Pull-ups number decrease significantly

Hi !

I have been training pull ups for a few months, and i tested my max on a bar recently and I hit 9, which is very good for me especially because I was wearing pretty heavy clothes which make me think I can do around 11-12 normally.

The thing is that the way I train my pull ups is 4x4 ( getting to 4x5 was at 4-4-5-5 before this whole mess ) with 5 pounds added. Everything was going fine until I plateaued for a week or two. Around that time I know that I was doing a lot of pull ups on my rest days too which definitly was very bad for my recovery but I still doubt it explains why the problem lasts till now.

Last week, I was getting frustrated because my pull-ups and dips both plateaud, when other movements were all progressing super fast. I was told to deload which I did. Over the week I trained twice and cut the volume and intensity in half.

Today I came back and guess what, every single movement feels amazing, even my dips which were plateauing, except for the pull ups. I barely did 2x5 with no weight.

So I made a post about all of this on another website and people told my yeah check your nutrition and sleep and bla bla bla and everything is in check. I know because of the fatigue I might have accumulated with all the pullups and no rest I might have been overtraining that movement a bit but right now I don't know what to do. I'M thinking to stop pull ups for a week right now but I have no idea what to really do. By the way I train full body one day out of two and generally come back stronger every session. Every movement is 4x5 and 3 minutes between sets.

I am 14 and a guy and I weight 112lbs for 5'5/5'6 ( I know I'm underweight but I started out at 90lbs )

Thank you in advance for the advice and sorry for the length of the post

EDIT : Forgot to mention that I have been training outside on rings which is a big change since I worked out inside with a pull up bar before