jacksibert has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Contemplating competition

Hey all,

Complete novice here. I'm a 30 year old male who has maintained pretty good shape for most of my life. Weightlifting has been a longtime hobby of mine and something I enjoy doing to relieve stress. I'm 6'0 ft tall. For the past several years, my walking around weight has hovered around a lean(ish) 200, getting up to 205 at my heaviest. And on my best days, my bench is about 300 and my squat is around 400.

My question pertains to the viability of taking a "natural" approach to bodybuilding competition, specifically if my goal is to eventually compete in the Men's Classic Physique category.

As I said before, at my heaviest I've been up to 205. Granted, I wasn't intentionally trying to push past that at the time. My bench and squat maxes have been stubbornly static once they reached the 300 and 400 marks. While I'm still (relatively) young- I'm looking to register for a regional competition within the next year. It will probably be in 2021 at this point because of COVID. My eventual goal is to compete in Men's Classic Physique, but for my first competition I'm thinking I may just hit up Men's Physique first. I'm not sure which organization I will compete in for this, and pending some more independent research and the answers that I receive here- I'll be making that decision soon.