Lafleur182 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Working shoulders day after back day?

Hi,

I'm very new to weight lifting, so new in fact I have only just started properly last week. I've developed my full programme using all the advice I could find on different forums, articles, etc. However I've just come across an issue and wonder if a) it is an issue, and b) if it is, how do other gets around this

So basically my routine consists of push/pull split. On my pull day, I am doing exercises such as barbell bent over row and dumbell one arm row. Both of these exercises work my traps and I can feel the soreness the next day. However the next day is my push day, which consists of overhead presses and side lateral raises, both of which also use my traps.

Is this normal? I was under impression each muscle group needs 48 hours rest minimum but on a push/pull split the traps are being worked almost every day.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000) DerkBezerk is a name known to all. (+5000)
    Originally Posted by Lafleur182 View Post
    Hi,

I'm very new to weight lifting, so new in fact I have only just started properly last week. I've developed my full programme using all the advice I could find on different forums, articles, etc. However I've just come across an issue and wonder if a) it is an issue, and b) if it is, how do other gets around this