Registered User userB68NXLR0EEM's Avatar
    userB68NXLR0EEM is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Angry How long will it take to bench 225lbs?

Im a 17 year old boy thats 6’0ft and weights 175lbs. I’ve been lifting for almost 2-3 years now and my current 10-12 rep max on bench press is 185lbs.

I’m really trying to reach my goal of a 10-12 rep max bench press of 225lbs and it’s really starting to frustrate me as it feels like I’ve been stuck at 185 for over a month now.

How long do you think it will take me to reach 225lbs on bench, and do you think I’m starting to reach a plateau?

Anything helps, thanks.

MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) MrCarrot is a splendid one to behold. (+10000)
    Well you've been lifting for longer than me so possibly you already know more than me :-)

First of all, I would say 185 pounds (greater than your own body weight) for 12 reps is a good achievement for a 17 year old, and probably well above what your average 17 year old could do.

Yes, you might have reached a plateau. Do you have access to a spotter? I've found that once I reach failure, having a spotter that helps me grind out another rep or two has helped.

The other thing I do is add more weight and do less reps. I've also done this with pullups. Psychologically when I go back to a lower weight it suddenly feels easier, even for more reps.

Good luck