karlhammerle is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Question General Nutrition and Exercise Inquiry

Hey people! I’m new to the site. Thanks for having me.

I’m a veteran of diet and exercise, on and off since I was 22 years old, and I’m now 35, ~180 pounds, 5’10”, probably about 22-25% body fat. I’m also a lax vegetarian—I eat eggs, fish, etc. (no red meat, chicken, etc.) I’ve accomplished some short term goals in the past, mostly losing fat after being unhealthy for a while, achieving super low body fat a few times, etc. Normally, I would decide to “get healthy” which has just meant cutting calories big time, running a couple miles a day 5-6 times/week, and lifting without any plan. I’ve never set much longer term goals with the focus on simultaneous fat loss and muscle building until now. I’d like to share my current diet and exercise regiment and get whatever feedback, criticisms, suggestions, and advice the forum would like to offer.

I eat about 6 meals a day, with a total caloric intake of about 2200-2400. I’m focusing on macronutrients (very new to me) to make sure I’m taking in sufficient protein, so my current breakdown is about 15% fat (75g), 48% carbohydrates (232g), and 37% protein (183g). All my food is super clean—no saturated fats, minimally processed food, good vitamins and minerals, 99% organic food (if you care), and high quality protein supplements. For the time being, I’ve also cut out alcohol and cheese, so there’s pretty much nothing useless going into my body right now.