Reply
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forever College Student CaliSuperSport's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Location: Sacramento, California, United States
    Posts: 29,308
    Rep Power: 150621
    CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000)
    CaliSuperSport is offline

    How do you fix packet loss on your wifi?

    I will probably post on a networking forum, but curious if you guys have ever fixed packet loss issues by changing hardware. I'm a noob and used some sort of tool that measures your connection at different "hops" and found my packet loss was occurring on Comcast's ibone (hop 6 I think..)

    My packet loss is consistently everyday regardless of other devices being on the network, and makes FPS/Moba gaming impossible. Was going to try a powerline adapter but heard it's hit or miss. I'm upstairs and the router (comcast leased router) is downstairs. Any tips???
    ωσяℓ∂ тяανєℓєя ȼяєω
    Pre-Med crew
    Daenerys Targaryen is my 10/10 srs
    ₪ I was at DEFQON.1 AUSTRALIA 2016 ₪
    172 lbs | O: 155 /// B: 265 /// S: 330 /// D: 380
    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    lulzing jackamo2887's Avatar
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Posts: 15,787
    Rep Power: 24470
    jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) jackamo2887 has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000)
    jackamo2887 is offline
    There's no magic bullet unfortunately.

    Try powerline adapters. Try to move your router. Depending on your router, buy a better one with better tech, try a mesh router system

    Or start drilling holes and running some ethernet line
    rep GMiscer and RICHSTRONG on sight crew.
    Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Natty Beardbuilder wings_unhinged's Avatar
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: Alaska, United States
    Age: 33
    Posts: 15,869
    Rep Power: 30044
    wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) wings_unhinged has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000)
    wings_unhinged is offline
    Call Comcast. If the degrade is on their network, it's their problem not yours.
    Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Forever College Student CaliSuperSport's Avatar
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Location: Sacramento, California, United States
    Posts: 29,308
    Rep Power: 150621
    CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000) CaliSuperSport has a reputation beyond repute. Second best rank possible! (+100000)
    CaliSuperSport is offline
    Originally Posted by jackamo2887 View Post
    There's no magic bullet unfortunately.

    Try powerline adapters. Try to move your router. Depending on your router, buy a better one with better tech, try a mesh router system

    Or start drilling holes and running some ethernet line
    I dont know what else to do so may try them out. Based off what I read, they were preferable to extenders.

    Originally Posted by wings_unhinged View Post
    Call Comcast. If the degrade is on their network, it's their problem not yours.
    Was trying to avoid their low-level tech guys who do the bare minimum, since if it's the ibone I assumed it's a regional problem, but it's been going on for months now.

    I'll try both and maybe leave a reply for anyone else.
    ωσяℓ∂ тяανєℓєя ȼяєω
    Pre-Med crew
    Daenerys Targaryen is my 10/10 srs
    ₪ I was at DEFQON.1 AUSTRALIA 2016 ₪
    172 lbs | O: 155 /// B: 265 /// S: 330 /// D: 380
    Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    Registered User Tamorlane's Avatar
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Posts: 21,896
    Rep Power: 36537
    Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000) Tamorlane has much to be proud of. One of the best! (+20000)
    Tamorlane is offline
    what hardware did you change. Gaming shouldn't be impossible it requires fairly little bandwidth.
    Reply With Quote

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts