agolee is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Should I first cut or bulk? And why

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to the fitness world and hope someone can help me out with this:

I am 22 years old, 174cm tall (5"7) and currently weight 70kg (154 lbs).
    I definitely want to be smaller in general so I have to lose fat. But I don't just want to be skinny, I want to build muscles and be strong and toned/ have visible abs and build a booty.

I have been working out regularly (3-5 x a week) for the last month, focusing on weight training.

But one thing I still haven't figured out is the order of the cutting and bulking phases:

Should I first be in a caloric deficit, lose the fat and THEN up my calorie intake and concentrate on building muscles until I reach my goal body

OR

Eat in a caloric surplus now and build the muscles, then once I feel strong enough go into a caloric deficit to lose the fat until I reach my goal body

OR

Stay around my maintenance calories and just do a good mix of weight training and cardio until I built the muscles and lost the fat?

Everyone always says that you can only build muscles on a caloric surplus, but does that mean it makes no sense to do weight training while on a caloric deficit?

Hope someone can guide me here! I really want to learn as much as I can about nutrition and fitness. Also, I'll attach a pic of myself and one of my body goals. Thanks!