finest1 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

tricep fatigue on pressing movements

hi there,

I'm in week 4 of German Volume Training. I've noticed that after set 5 or 6 my triceps start to weaken on bench press and OHP movements. in fact I fail my reps because of this. my triceps are so pumped its rock hard! don't get me wrong I don't mind it, but in the case of running this program, I feel my chest is not being worked due to the fatigue. the last work out I had to rest 5 seconds in-between reps just to get my 10x10. but that's not the point. I've always had weak arms in the sense that they don't grow big. when I was on 5x5 my triceps did pump, but did not fatigue.

any ideas how I can get round this? and what does this mean in terms of development and growth. will this hamper the program?

bench press and OHP are on different days.

some extra info:

I've been powerlifting for the past 5 years consistently.
    I've learned good technique and form during those 5 years
    I've been on 5x5 for years. I wanted to have a break and do something different

thanks

etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000) etet1919 is a name known to all. (+5000)
    Originally Posted by finest1 View Post
    hi there,