angrystomach is on a distinguished road. (+10)

New member looking for some help

Hi all,

Just wanted to introduce myself and see if I can get some advise from some experienced members here.

I am 28 years old, 5'7" and currently 215lbs with 35% (give or take a %) body fat. I have always been active my whole life which is what I feel has kept me somewhat slim growing up. I realize now that the reason I was always slightly over weight was a poor diet. Once I got to college I was working out 5-6 times a week and really saw a dramatic increase in my strength. I still didn't have a good diet and was probably sitting at around 20-25% body fat weighing around 180-190lbs. Once i graduated and started working full time I gradually pushed the gym aside, starting up every now and then for a few weeks to a month only to stop going. After watching myself slowly become more and more overweight I decided enough was enough and I needed to get myself back in shape. My wife and I are planning to have kids in the somewhat near future and I fear if I don't start changing my habits now I will never get back to how I want to be and feel.