adaw1 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Help with Diet/Program - Should I Keep Getting Leaner?

Hi guys!

So I posted something similar a couple weeks before but didn't get any replies. Thought I'd give it another shot and frame the question differently. I know this is a common one - but I feel having some more experienced opinions would be helpful to guide me in the right direction.

I’ve been working out seriously for about 3 years now, and have made some decent progress (progress pic/current pics attached below).

I’ve been cutting for two-three months since July and its been moving slowly. I’ve gone from about 168-160 pounds in this period. It wouldn’t be so frustrating if it weren’t for the fact I always seem to plateau after losing 7/8 pounds every time I cut. I've never been lean as I've wanted.

My workouts are organized in a standard push, pull, legs routine with about 15 minutes of HIIT cardio every other day. I do compounds and accessory lifts usually in the 8-12 rep range for accessories and 4-8 for compounds. Usually I hit the gym for an hour 5-6 days a week.

To be clear, my goal from the start has always to have visible abs - an aesthetically pleasing physique that isn’t necessarily massive, but still muscular. I want to look toned, I’ve never seen my abs before and it’s a huge goal for me - and will make bulking up later much easier to digest (no pun intended) when I get there. I’ve read a lot about getting lean before getting bigger and I’m inclined to agree with this approach based on my goals.

I’ve never been able to achieve the lean physique I want yet, though I feel I am getting closer. Here are my stats:
    5’10"
    Approx. 161 pounds