Benpisahov93 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

For how long can you train once a week to keep your gains?

Hi everyone,just an interesting question I got in mind.
    i'm a student, and now we have the exam period so in the last 4-5 weeks (and the next 2-3 weeks) i can not train as much, but I still manage to get to the gym here and there..

I have been in the gym like 5 times in the last 5 weeks (instead of 4-5 times a week..) and I thought that the best option that I got is to do a FBW workout with the main compound movements..

I usually do 4-5 heavy sets of squats, 2-3 deadlift, 5 sets of heavy bench press, a little lower intensity on shoulder press, weighted pull up, rows, and sometimes some accessories (yeah,a long and exhausting workout..)

in the first 2-3 weeks I haven't lost any strength but my muscle felt more "soft" and I had less pump..
    in the last 2 weeks I feel much weaker (usually the first set is alright but im running out of gas in the next sets), I lost like 4-5 pounds (which is usual, probably glycogen and water)

soo.. my question is, is there any study that indicates the minimum effective volume to KEEP the gains? (not to get better)

like.. I feel that if I keep training only once a week for the next 2-3 weeks i will get significantly weaker and smaller..

would be glad to hear your thoughts