andreaswp is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Ac separation shoulder: to operate or not?

4 days ago I suffered a class 3 ac separation after falling on my shoulder skiing. The doctor asked me my occupation and when I replied software engineer she recommended not doing surgery.
    From what I can read not doing surgery is recommended in most cases. However it bothers me this question about my occupation. To me that seems to indicate that I will be weaker without the surgery. Also I do not know how much weaker since the strength requirements for software engineering are extremely low. It would be more assuring if I was a firefighter and she said sure no problem you will be able to carry people without an operation.

I am not particular strong at the moment and I do not have any desire to be much above average strong either. What is important to me is to train my fast muscle fibers since I am loosing them with age. I need these to react and catch my fall. To do this I have to lift heavy. That is heavy for me. Probably not heavy for many of you guys:-). Also not heavy compared to my potential. As an example I weigh 100 kg and estimate that I need to be able to bench 75 kg to catch a forward fall.
    My potential was perhaps 150 kg (not much but I have long arms and mostly slow muscle fibers).
    If my new potential without the operation is 120 kg (20% reduction) that is not a big problem to me. Sure it will be harder to achieve 62.5 % of my potential than 50% but that should be doable?
    On the other hand I dont understand why this would not apply to almost all occupations. Who except from professional athletes have a job where the required strength is close to their potential? On the other hand it might be that without operation I will suffer some pain when doing overhead work. This might be a problem in some jobs.