Registered User Barbecuebarbell's Avatar
    Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10) Barbecuebarbell is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Time to Dial It In

I've been running this program for the past 8-9 months with great results. I am in my early 20's and am 6'2" and 230lbs. My close-grip bench got to 250lbs x 2, overhead press to 180lbs x 1, and 5 x 5 weighted chins on rings to 45lbs. I am happy with the results and've been able to add weight and/or reps in my main lifts over the course of this time by taking a few deloads, microloading and switching rep and set schemes when necessary.

Since my goals are to add upper-body size and strength while pushing towards a 200 press and 300 bench, the program consists of two upper body days (OHP/Bench) and one lower body day. While I've gotten great results, I am starting to feel run down lately on upper body days, and I've stalled on my bench and press for the past 4 weeks now despite deloads/resets/micro-loads. My squats and deads are still improving with the one day, and I am where I want to be for now with them (450 x 5 dead and 385 x 5 squat). I love this structure of training, but I am wondering if anyone could help me with what to do on my two upper body days to get my bench and press moving again (new rep schemes? less assistance work? etc.). I would love to not have to switch programs, but if I had to it would need to be one similar to the one I am on now in terms of days per week and structure (two upper, one lower works well for me).