otag0 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Back to lifting after 5-year break, how does this routine look?

Bit of background, I've always been a skinnier guy growing up. I started lifting when I was 17 and did so for about a year, gained a lot of strength and my weight went from 145lb to 185 (mostly water and fat but plenty was muscle) at 6"1'. College/life happened so I've been almost completely sedentary for the past 4-5 years (23 now), I'm at around 160lb and strength-wise I'm at around the same level I was at 17 before I ever touched weights, rather skinny-fat unfortunately.

Decided to go back to the gym and I'm wondering if someone could critique this workout split. I should have significant muscle memory from a few years ago so I'm looking to optimize my routine to take advantage of that.

Day 1- Back/Biceps

5 Sets lat pulldowns
    4 Sets Rows on a machine
    3 sets DB shrugs
    2 sets BB curls

Day 2- Chest, Shoulders, Triceps

4 sets DB overhead shoulder press
    4 sets DB incline bench
    4 sets DB flat bench
    2 sets DB behind-the-neck tricep extensions

Day 3- Legs

6 sets leg press (don't want to get injured squatting)
    4 sets calf extensions on the leg press

Day 4- Rest. Repeat after this.

Rep-wise what I do is start with a weight where I can get around 10-12 reps until failure on the first set, and the subsequent sets I usually fail at fewer reps.

How does this look for a routine for someone trying to get back into it? Any tips or advice on what I should add/subtract/change would be appreciated

Professional Toner WorldClassDBag's Avatar