The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) The_cannibal is a splendid one to behold. (+10000)

Ketogenic diet and brain focus

I'm currently studying the ketogenic diet, not because I have weight to lose ( I really don't), but because it interests me from a scientific point of view.

From reading some of the threads on this forum, I saw that a lot of people experience increased focus (less brain fog) while in ketosis. Now, most of what I could find regarding the nervous system and the ketogenic diet is related to its anti-convulsant effect for epilepsy. There are many hypothesis regarding this effect, but one of them has to do with a change in the balance between glutamate (the main excitatory neurotransmitter in the brain) and GABA (the main inhibitory neurotransmitter); the biosynthesis of the latter being increased at the expense of the former, therefore providing a calming, anti-convulsant effect [1].

This is where it has me confused, because I generally associate increased brain focus with caffeine, or medications such as ******** or Ritalin, which are all stimulants. So my question to those of you using the ketogenic diet is:
    How do you experience this increased brain focus? Do you feel more calm on it, so that maybe your brain is not "going 100 miles an hour" and you can focus on a single thing?

Thank you.

[1] Marc Yudkoff, Yevgeny Daikhin, Ilana Nissim, and Itzhak Nissim; The Ketogenic Diet - Interactions With Brain Amino Acid Handling, From: Epilepsy and the Ketogenic Diet, Humana Press, 2004