ibiza has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Smith-machine vs. Free weight (bench press)

I'm pretty new to bodybuilding. 18 years old, 160 lbs. And I am pretty weak. I can only bench 25 lbs. on each side of the bar with a smith machine.

My question is this: Would it be better for me to use the free weight bench? I'm thinking that it will build more muscle in other areas other than my back, ie stabilizing muscles. But mabey the smith machine will help me concentrate on my chest.

Since I'm so weak, should I stay on the smith machine for a while, then move to the free weight bench?

One more question. Should I do my incline dumbell press before or after my flat bench press?

Registered User Complete Muscle's Avatar
    Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500) Complete Muscle is a jewel in the rough. (+500)

Re: Smith-machine vs. Free weight (bench press)

Originally posted by ibiza
    ...My question is this: Would it be better for me to use the free weight bench? I'm thinking that it will build more muscle in other areas other than my back, ie stabilizing muscles...
    You mean chest I'm sure. I always vote for free weights over machine because of the use of stabilizing muscles and the natural range of motion. Much better for strength/muscle gaining.

One more question. Should I do my incline dumbell press before or after my flat bench press?
    Neither. You should concentrate on the basic coumpound lifts, one per body part. I would choose either parallel bar dips or flat bench press for chest.
    Make time to eat!