PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500) PiperBill is a glorious beacon of knowledge. (+2500)

Shoulder injury after bench press

This is my first post, though I have been lurking for some time. I think I have seriously injured my right shoulder. I have been lifting weights off and on for 20 years but at the age of 55 I decided to get serious about it. Iím 56 now. I train every day but Sunday, with weights and cardio on alternate days. Have been training bench with a goal of 100kg. My max was 90kg until yesterday. I was going for 95kg after a good warm up. My son was assisting. He also trains weights and makes sure I have good form. I lowered the bar and then on the push up I felt something give or tear in my right shoulder and a searing pain. I cannot lift my right arm at all now. I can move my forearm at the elbow but canít get my hand higher than my chin. I have a doctorís appointment later today. The pain is less intense today but there is no way I can lift my arm.

I will be looking for advice on the best way to recover. What chest exercises I can do that donít stress my injured shoulder. As far as I know there is no real substitute for bench press. In the mean time I can train cardio and legs, back, abs.

Iím thinking the worst.. That my upper body weight training days are over.

Cheers

Bill