OldMate12 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Side effects of low caloric intake

Hi guys,
    I've been lifting and watching what I eat for several months now but never really did enough research before I started so treat me as a complete newbie. I now want to learn more about various topics so I can optimise my training and get some good results. I might make some assumptions in my posts that are completely wrong so please tell me if I do. I have written myself a list of questions I want to find some answers to and at the top is this:

When people go on low caloric diets (below maintenance) their BMR eventually adjusts to bring the maintenance calories down to what is being consumed. The same number of calories must be exerted during exercise (if your exercise plan stays the same) so it must be the BMR that is reduced. Wouldn't lowering your BMR be really bad? That suggests to me that your body is skipping processes it would normally do to save on energy. What processes are skipped? Wouldn't this lead to organ failure (dramatic) if the body starts not performing processes it should do? Do you start to always feel lethargic? Does your body temperature drop (thats bad as well isnt it?)?

Lowering your BMR just seems really bad to me but it also seems to be the only way to lose weight...

mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000) mavajo is a name known to all. (+5000)
    This is a very good question.