Registered User SpintingForLife's Avatar
    SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) SpintingForLife has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Weight training for sprinters

I posted this in the exercises forum but just saw that there was a sports training forum which would be more appropriate so I'm reposting this thread here.

I'm a recent high school grad that's going to be running on a D2 university track team in the fall. My events are the 100 and 200 meter dash as well as the 4 x 100 relay. I want to do some weight training to increase my speed but I'm not sure what lifts to do and how much time I should spend on them.

I heard that glute strength is actually more important than leg strength for runners. How true is this statement?

Right now I'm doing overhead press, glute bridges, power cleans, back squats, and barbell step-ups for 3 sets of 10 reps each. Should I be doing any different exercises and should I change my rep ranges?