JamesRanceo has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

College Football!

Hello,

I've posted a few times on other related threads, but haven't had much in the way of feedback. Maybe a independent thread is more viable.

Essentially, my dream is to play D1 college football. Now, before I get harassment from a load of forum members, I am aware that there are hundreds/thousands that have the same ambition(s) as i do. Maybe, what separates me, at least in my opinion is my willingness to succeed. I always think about it as this - one chance at playing college football, go at it, and see where it gets you. You can drink/party/enjoy girls of easy virtue in later life..

So, I'm 18 currently, and living in the UK. I'm in my last year of school (equiv of senior year for the US educational system), 6,2, 190lbs. I'm taking a gap year (basically, a year out after i finish 6th form), obviously as the majority of 2013 graduating college football candidates, if not all have signed with the D1 teams. My first question is this - Am i still eligible for D1 scholarship's, even if I look to en roll in Fall 2014, or would I be too old/any other regulations that the NCAA have dreamt up that end up restricting me?

I guess the biggest 'X-factor' question that I would appreciate being answered is the way to go about really attracting some attention, getting in shape (Yes, I've read the football FAQs), and preparing to give myself the best possible chance at getting those all-important scholarship offer(s)?

Currently, I'm running a 4.37 40yds, got a max bench of around 285lbs (not going to list all gym-related figures as it's not about that) and hitting around 39inches on the vertical jump. Playing cornerback at the moment.. << Just a little rough information on my background, current standings.