Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    strabarie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) strabarie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) strabarie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) strabarie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) strabarie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) strabarie has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Intimidated by MEN at the gym

Hi everyone!

I'm Anastasia, I am new here.

So, I was at the gym today, and something occurred to me that I immediately thought of posting in this forum.

I just started lifting several months ago. I am a very small person, 5'4 and 108 pounds, and 6 of those pounds I have just recently put on due to weight lifting. Basically, I am not very strong yet, but I do feel confident in my workouts, most of the time.

So there I was today, squatting 80lbs with pain, and next to me on both sides are men, one not much taller than I am, squatting like 300lbs! And then I am doing leg curls with 20lbs and then after me that same guy gets on and puts 4 45lb plates on and then keeps adding 10b plates. And so on.

I understand that I am small and I am pretty new to lifting, while they are twice my size and weight and have more experience (although this particular guy was very short and not very big, probably in his 40s). I can not help but feel intimidated at the gym. I am usually the only girl there lifting, surrounded by men. I know I should not be intimidated or even care what others are doing and just focus on my workout, but I just can't help but to think that maybe I am supposed to be lifting more? Am I generally weak, even for a girl? I really do push myself, but I just want to know from other ladies on here, if you don't mind, what weight have you started on (any exercise) and how you made big progress... I know it takes time, but it would definitely help hearing other women's advice.

Thanks